The Fuquay-Varina Museums Complex will be open for visitors at 131 Fuquay Avenue during the Celebrate Fuquay-Varina Festival.
Step back in time and tour the museums that bring Fuquay-Varina’s history to life!
The site consists of three museums:
First Fuquay Springs Post Office
This small building, provided by Hattie Parker Jones when she became postmaster of Fuquay-Springs in 1902, originally stood at the depot on Depot Street. Given to the town by the Jones family, it has been restored and furnished by the Fuquay Springs Questers.
"Squire" Ballentine Schoolhouse
Believed to have been provided by J. D. Ballentine, circa 1875, the building served as a school and later as a cottage near the Mineral Spring. Given to the town by the Aiken family, the two-room building features artifacts from the area’s early schools and tells a wonderful story! Among the artifacts displayed in the Schoolhouse Museum is the first diploma from the Fuquay Springs High School. Additional documentary materials are located here.
The Centennial Museum is housed in the municipal building dating from the 1950's, the collection details early rails, the spring, tobacco, individuals, government, and much more. Citizens have provided a very "creative" and "intriguing" display which can be enjoyed by locals and visitors alike.
The museum houses several pieces from the early railroad doctor, J. M. Judd and family, including an 1898 organ.
To learn more, visit www.Fuquay-Varina-Museums.org.